The 2023 Rising Writer Prize is for a first full-length book of fiction. The submission period opens October 1, 2022, and closes November 30, 2022 (Eastern Time). The judge for the 2023 Rising Writer Prize is Matt Bell.

NB: The Rising Writer Prize alternates each year between fiction and poetry. The 2024 prize will be awarded to a first book of poetry.

Guidelines for the Rising Writer Prize

  • Must be the author’s first full-length fiction collection (previous publications of chapbooks and full-length books in other genres are fine)
  • Novels, novellas, and short story collections are eligible
  • The winners will receive book publication, a $1,000 honorarium, and a $500 travel/publicity grant to promote their book
  • All finalists will be considered for publication
  • Submissions should be approximately 100 – 200 pages (45,000 – 90,000 words)
  • The reading fee is $25 (We will waive the submission fee for those undergoing financial hardship or living with limited means. Before you reach out to request a waived fee, please read our full statement and instructions here. If the guidelines are not followed, we will not be able to offer a waived fee.)
  • Do not include your name anywhere on the actual manuscript
  • Do not include an acknowledgments page in the manuscript
  • Feel free to include a table of contents
  • Simultaneous submissions are permitted, but please let us know immediately if your book was accepted elsewhere
  • Friends, family members, and former students of judges or Autumn House editors may not submit to the contest. Students do not include interactions at short-term residencies or fellowships
  • Former employees of Autumn House, including interns, may not submit to the contest

Note: There is no longer an age restriction on this prize.

Autumn House Press